Let us first discuss about Origin or the basis of VEDIC ASTROLOGY.

As per the classical references, it is the part of Vedas. It has been stated that there are four Vedas and six Vedangas.

The Vedas

1).The Rig Veda.

2).The Sam Veda.

3).The Yajur Veda.

4).The Atharva Veda. 

The Vedangas

1).Shiksha – explains the rules of correct pronunciation.

2).Kalpa – explains the procedure for performing religious rituals.

3).Vyakrana – explains the Vedic grammar which forms the basis to create words and the sentences.

4).Nirukta – explains the expositions of Vedic words.

5).Chhanda – explains the study of Vedic mantras and their rhythm, pause, tempo, stress and pitch.

6).Jyotish – explains the movement of planets, stars, signs and the effects of such movements on living beings.


It is also believed as per classical details that the


Vedic period ranges from-23750 BC to 8300 BC.

Puranic period ranges from-8300 BC to 3000 BC.

Parashari period ranges from-3000 BC to 57BC.

Varahamihir period ranges from-57 BC to 1900 AD.

Also the Vikrami Samvat starts from 57 BC.


Before going deeper to Vedic Astrology discussions, I wish to quote What Lord Krishna stated in Sri Bhagwat Geeta –He says that every human is free to exercise his free will to a certain limited extent for all purposes except for the following six things which are in His hands only.


1.               JANAMA (Birth)

2.               MRITYU (Death)

3.               LABH (Profit)

4.               HANI(Loss)

5.               YASH(Fame)

6.               UPYASH (Defame)

It means that every being takes birth due to his previous janama karmas and he can not exercise his will to take birth in the parents of his choice, can not die at will without any sufferings, whether he invests his money and all his efforts but he can’t have the desired profits or avoid losses, yet he does all his efforts to give happiness to his friends and relatives but no one praises him and on the other hand some other person does a little bit and gets plenty of fame in his pocket. THIS ALL IS IN THE GOD’S HANDS


Jyotish Shastra


Thus it can be very well explained that Jyotish Shastra is nothing but the part of our Vedas and Vedangas which are the oldest forms of writings in this world for the spiritual development of the mankind devised spiritually by our great Rishis.

In modern terminology we can infer that Jyotish Shastra is the study of science of Astronomy and Astrology. It further conveys that it is the science dealing with JYOTIES i.e. Lit Planets or heavenly bodies.


Astronomy is the study of movement and position of planets and stars in the universe for the development of the mankind scientifically. 


By astrology we mean that the study of the effects of the movement of these stars and planets logically on the living beings through their horoscopes mainly for their spiritual development and other happenings throughout life.

In Indian language ‘Hindi’ Astrology is termed as Jyotish which means Jyoti+Ish. Jyoti means heavenly bodies and Ish means (GOD) i.e. spirituality.

Astrology means Astro+logy (logus).Astro means stars (astronomy i.e. science) and logy means logic i.e. reasoning.

Thus astrology is both spiritual and scientific.

Divisions of Astrology


There ate three Skandas or divisions of Jyotish Shastra.





1).Samhita-is the study of several rules compiled by our great sages to study the science of astrology. In here we may refer to the great works of Sri Narad Rishi in Narad Samhita, Surya Purana and Bhavishya Purana etc. for the development of human beings spiritually. 


2).Sidhanta or Ganita-is the study of movement of planets in our solar system i.e. calculation of their positions and various other terminologies used for making of our horoscope for predicting the results and it is also called the Mathematical astrology.


3).Hora-is the study of timing of incidents in the life of any individual with respect to his EXACT Date, Time and Place of Birth. It is that science of astrology which every astrologer or non-astrologer would want to have for predicting the results using the Samhita rules and Sidhanta calculations. That is why it is called the FALIT JYOTISH or Predictive Astrology in Hindu Vedic Astrology. Only the intelligent, mathematically and spiritually strong with full faith in God and Astrology come up with 60% to 70% accurate predictions. In Brihat Parashara Hora Shastra, the great sage Parashara says that it is only The Brahma who can predict accurately.


Now we understand that the Astrology is based on mathematical calculations like movement of planets in their orbit. So it cannot be wrong but it is the astrologer who needs to clearly understand all the basic predictive principles lay down by our greatest Rishis in the classics before giving any prediction keeping in view the IMPORTANCE of DESH, KAAL and PATRA. (PLACE, TIME and PERSON)


So by all means, the Astrologer must acquire some basic qualifications such as mathematical ability to cast horoscope, other divisional charts and Dashas which are now a days being calculated by using computers, but even then the understanding of mathematical part is must.


The Astrologer must be pure by heart and mind and should not exploit the astrology and the faith of innocent people for the purpose of monetary gains only.


The astrologer must have the knowledge of remedial measures for the propiation of planets.


The astrologer must be a spiritual person as the astrology is a spiritual science so the astrologer must be disciplined.


The list of qualifications is endless but the idea is that the astrologer must use the astrology for the benefit of humanity.




****** “ALL THE BEST” from Acharya Narinder Vasudeva. ******


For more details contact:                                                     

Acharya Narinder Vasudeva (Astrologer & Vastu specialist)

Vice-Principal, Saraswati College of Astrology & Allied Sciences, Panchkula, India